The Clearwater Clean Energy Conference

The Conference Committee met on August 3rd to outline the Call for Papers for the 43rd International Technical Conference on Clean Energy, June 3 to 7, 2018, at the Sheraton Sand Key in Clearwater, Florida, USA.  To get the flavor of what we will offer next June, click on the link for this year’s Official Program.  The Call for Papers has been issued and is available here  2018 Call for Papers

74193 Official Program with ads_2017

MISSION STATEMENT – Increased demand – coupled with energy security issues, uncertainty in the oil sector, and tightening environmental regulations – make this conference a must for those involved in all aspects of power generation who must meet the competitive pressures and environmental concerns in the 21st century.
Through the Technical Sessions, Short Courses, and Panels, cutting-edge developments dealing with technical solutions to problems; specific strategies; projects; innovations; industry trends; and or/regulatory compliance will be offered. The program presents an extensive overview of emerging, evolving, and innovative technologies, fuels and/or equipment in the power generation industry. We seek papers from all countries worldwide at the annual technical conference which takes place each June in Clearwater, Florida, USA.


International Programs – Technical Developments – Policy Issues
Papers from the international community are strongly encouraged. In the 2016 conference 16 countries were represented at the conference. In addition, one-third of all attendees were from the international community. The international papers were related to energy/environmental developments throughout the world.

The Committee also encourages papers that deal specifically with the topics covered in the Keynote Session, Panels, Short Courses and Plenary Sessions.

At the direction of the Conference Committee, it was decided to broaden the scope of the conference to include some new and exciting technologies currently on the horizon. The name of the conference was changed to reflect this new and exciting direction. We will continue to be in Clearwater and we will continue to be the Clearwater Conference.

Industry professionals representing nearly all the major players in the electric utility industry were in Clearwater, Florida, USA for the 41st Conference (informally known as “the Clearwater Clean Energy Conference”).

This conference has earned a reputation for excellence as one of the premiere conferences on coal technologies as it grows in size and scope since its inception in 1975.

CONFERENCE HEADQUARTERS – Sand Key is one of the 20 Best Beaches, according to many travel and tourism organizations. Sheraton Sand Key, 1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater, Florida – 
Phone: 727-595-1611
FAX: 727-596-8488
 $189/night – Single or Double for information about the Sheraton Sand Key


The dedicated efforts and expertise of each Committee member result in the excellent Technical Program offered each year. The Committee reaches out to all segments of the energy industry so that the state-of-the-art (and beyond) is presented. Through their hard work, we continue to provide a world-renowned conference each year.  With the retirement as Conference Co-Chair of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus R. G. Hein, we are pleased to announce that Dr. Ronald Breault, National Energy Technology Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy will join Dr. Lawrence Bool of Praxair as Conference Co-Chair.  This year’s Conference Committee members are:

AEP, J.J. Letcavits
AECOM, Dr. Guisu Liu
Air Liquide, Bhuphesh Dhangel
Air Products, Jeff Kloosterman
Arizona State University, Dr. Klaus S. Lackner
Babcock Power Inc., Bonnie Courtemanche
Boiler Combustion & Emissions Control Consultant, Dr. Edmundo R. Vasquez
Brigham Young University, Prof. Bradley Adams and Prof. Andrew Fry
CANMET Natural Resources Canada, Dr. Ligang Zheng
Chalmers University of Technology, Prof. Klas Andersson
Covanta, Alan Paschedag
CSIRO, Dr. Louis Wibberley and Dr. David Harris
Consultant, Gerry Hesselmann
Electric Power Research Institute, Horst Hack
Électricité du France, Mathieu Insa
Energy & Environment, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus R. G. Hein (Chairman Emeritus)
Energy & Environmental Research Center, University of North Dakota,
Christopher J. Zygarlicke and Joshua Stanislowski
Fuel Tech,Dr. Ian Saratovsky, and Chris R. Smyrniotis
Fuels and Combustion Consultant, David Tillman
Gas Technology Institute, Howard Meyer
GE – Alstom Power Inc., To Be Announced
Government Contracting Specialists, LLC, Philip W. Winkler
IEA Clean Coal Centre, Dr. Andrew Minchener
ION Engineering, Dr. Erik Meuleman
KAIST, Dept. of Nuclear & Quantum Engineering, Prof. Jeong Ik Lee
KeyLogic Systems Inc., Massood Ramezan
Lehigh University, Dr. Edward K. Levy
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Dr. Janos M. Beer
Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Americas, Inc., Dr. Song Wu, and Robert Nicolo
Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems Europe GmbH, Gosia Stein-Brzozowska
Monash University, Dr. Sankar Bhattacharya
Northeastern University, Dr. Yiannis A. Levendis
Ohio University, Dr. Gerardine G. Botte
Ontario Power Generation, Les Marshall
Pennsylvania State University, Bruce G. Miller
Praxair, Inc., Dr. Lawrence E. Bool III (Conference Co-chair)
Reaction Engineering International, Kevin Davis
Ruhr University, Department of Energy Plant Technology, Prof. Viktor Scherer
Somerset Pty Ltd., Dr. Dave Osborne
Southern Illinois University, Dr. Joseph Hirschi
Tampa Electric Company, Yogesh M. Patel and Byron Burrows
Technische Universität Hamburg-Harburg Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alfons Kather
The Babcock & Wilcox Company, Dr. Andrew Mackrory
The University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Dr. Nenad Sarunac
Tsinghua University, Dr. Yao Qiang
U.S. Geological Survey, Ronald H. Affolter, Emeritus
University of Alberta, Dr. Rajender Gupta
University of Kentucky, Dr. Kunlei Liu
University of Maryland, Dr. Ashwani Gupta
University of Newcastle, Prof. Terry Wall
University of South Carolina, Prof. Jochen Lauterbach
University of Utah, Prof. Eric Eddings, Prof. JoAnn Lighty and Kevin Whittey
U.S. Department of Energy, National Energy Technology Laboratory, Dr. Ronald Breault (Conference Co-chair)
Wrocław University of Technology, Poland, Halina Pawlak-Kruczek Ph.D., D.Sc., and Dr. Janusz Lichota